Lionel Train Forum - Lionel Trains


Author Topic: transformador  (Read 3558 times)

gabrielr

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Location: colombia
    • View Profile
transformador
« on: September 27, 2020, 06:38:46 pm »
Hello, I am requesting help for speed of a transformer, I bought a Lionel locomotive and the transformer only has a speed of 20 volts AC, I would like to set speeds but I don't know how to do it, if you could help me I would be grateful
Gabrielr
 
Enviar comentarios
Historial
Guardadas

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


TrainLarry

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 431
    • View Profile
  • Scale(s) Modeled: 0 scale
Re: transformador
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2020, 12:18:12 am »
Welcome to the forum!

Transformers have voltage outputs.

What Lionel locomotive do you have, and what transformer do you have?
It sounds like you have a regular transformer with one output, and not a transformer for Lionel trains. A Lionel transformer has a variable output, allowing you to control the speed.

You need a Lionel transformer and the necessary adapter to plug into your electrical outlets. Good, used Lionel transformers and other trains and equipment can be found on the online auction sites.


Larry


gabrielr

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Location: colombia
    • View Profile
Re: transformador
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2020, 05:49:49 pm »
Hi Larry bought a lionel # 8902 locomotive with a plastic shell, but I don't know what voltage to apply if AC or DC, please tell me that.
Thank you
[/quote]

TrainLarry

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 431
    • View Profile
  • Scale(s) Modeled: 0 scale
Re: transformador
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2020, 11:49:10 pm »
The Lionel #8902 locomotive is a DC locomotive, and needs a DC power supply.

Lionel has vintage DC controllers such as this.
https://www.ebay.com/c/1724622794

A more powerful modern unit such as this one can also be used if you plan on expanding your empire with DC locomotives.
https://www.amazon.com/Model-Rectifier-Corporation-AMPAC-Controller/dp/B00CTMBM6I/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=LGB+Train+Transformer&qid=1601353660&sr=8-2

If you want to expand your empire, you will be limited in the Lionel engines you can run with DC power, as most run on AC power. You would have to disconnect any whistle or horn relays on AC powered locos, as they are triggered by DC.

It would be recommended that you take your loco to a Lionel service station or a local electronics repair person, and request that a full wave bridge rectifier be installed. This way the loco will run with any Lionel AC transformer. It would run in only one direction with no reverse. If you want reverse capability, an electronic reverse unit would need to be installed instead, such as this one.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lionel-Parts-610-8719-103-electronic-E-unit-board/333725834824?hash=item4db39c1e48:g:U9kAAOSwsdtd-8kO

Larry
« Last Edit: September 28, 2020, 11:57:24 pm by TrainLarry »

 

Member Photos

Recent Threads

Re: Parts needed for Lionel S 2 Steam Turbine 6 18010 ( 6- 8 - 6) by crazyabouttrains
22 Oct, 2020 11:29

Re: Old documents by reno
22 Oct, 2020 08:58

Re: Parts needed for Lionel S 2 Steam Turbine 6 18010 ( 6- 8 - 6) by Nickster
22 Oct, 2020 03:28

Re: parts needed by djacobsen
21 Oct, 2020 07:16

Re: parts needed by TrainLarry
20 Oct, 2020 20:59

Menu


Donate to LTF Here

Lionel Trains

Lionel Train Forum - Model Train Forum

©2012-2019  LionelTrainForum.com